Software Architecture Frameworks

The specification of architecture frameworks is one area of standardization in ISO/IEC/IEEE 42010:2011 (the international revision of IEEE 1471:2000).

WG42 is collecting examples of architecture frameworks, more information here.

We selected five of them:

PPOOA – Processes Pipelines in Object Oriented Architectures [website]

Provides a collection of building elements and an architecting process to build component-based architectures, taking into account concurrency issues earlier in the development.

PPOOA is an architecting framework oriented to real-time systems architectures. PPOOA uses two viewpoints: structural, using UML class diagrams extended with PPOOA stereotypes, and behavioral, supported by UML activity diagrams. PPOOA architectures may be evaluated by analytical methods such as RMA (Rate Monotonic Analysis) and simulation tools such as Cheddar tool. An architecting methodology (ise&ppooa) and process is provided also.

PPOOA Process

TRAK – Enterprise Architecture Framework [website]

TRAK provides a means of describing the architecture of systems, based on the requirements of ISO/IEC/IEEE 42010. Domain-neutral. General purpose for the description of systems, aimed at systems engineers.

TRAK is based on MODAF (UK Ministry of Defence Architecture Framework). It was developed for rail but is domain agnostic and can be used wherever there is a system to be described. TRAK has been designed from the outset to conform to ISO/IEC 42010.

It has 5 perspectives and 22 architecture viewpoints. Architecture view content is defined using tuples (object – relationship – object) with additional rules to enforce consistency across an architecture description, based on a metamodel.

TRAK Enterprise Architecture Framework

Siemens Four Views

The Siemens approach uses four views to document an architecture. The four views and their associated design tasks are shown in the Figure below. The first task for each view is global analysis. The second and third groups of tasks are the central and final design tasks , which define the elements of the architecture view, the relationships among them, and important properties.

Siemens Four View

DODAF – US Department of Defense Architecture Framework [website]

To enable “the development of architectures to facilitate the ability of Department of Defense (DoD) managers at all levels to make key decisions more effectively through organized information sharing across the Department, Joint Capability Areas (JCAs), Mission, Component, and Program boundaries.”


IBM IFW – Information Framework
The IFW is a set of banking specific business models that represent practice in banking. It comprises: (1)Information Models: providing banking data content to address areas such as enterprise-wide view of information; (2) Process Models: providing banking business processes content to address areas such as business process re-engineering; and, (3) Integration Models: providing business services content to address areas such as services oriented architectures.

The IFW business models are created by identifying, describing and structuring all of the business functions, data and processes.

IFW – IBM Framework

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s