Some Research Paper Writing Recommendations


Arie van Deursen

Last week, I received an email from Alex Orso and Sebastian Uchitel, who had been asked to give a talk on “How to get my papers accepted at top SE conferences” at the Latin American School on Software Engineering. Here’s their question:

We hope you can spare a few minutes to share with us the key recommendations you would give to PhD students that have not yet had successful submissions to top software engineering conferences, such as ICSE.

An interesting request, and I certainly look forward to receive some of the advice my fellow researchers will be providing you can see the advice of my fellow researchers in a presentation by Alex Orso.

When working with my students on papers, I must admit I sometimes repeat myself. Below are some of the things I hear myself say most often.

Explain the Innovation

The first thing to…

View original post 997 more words

About crescenciolima
Crescencio has graduated in Computer Science in Universidade Estadual do Sudoeste da Bahia (2000-2005) and has a master degree in Computer Science from Universidade Federal de Pernambuco (2009-2011). Currently he is a Computer Science Ph.D. student in Universidade Federal da Bahia (2014) and professor in Instituto Federal da Bahia, Brazil (2012).

Leave a Reply

